Collaboration • Knowledge • Leadership

Collaboration • Knowledge • Leadership

MHV welcomes Chairs of Interim Regional Bodies

Mar, 2022

Mental Health Victoria has welcomed the announcement of the Chairs of the eight Mental Health and Wellbeing Interim Regional Bodies.

'The Interim Bodies are a key recommendation of the Royal Commission into Victoria’s Mental Health System (Recommendation 4.1),' said Mental Health Victoria Acting CEO Larissa Taylor. 'They will give a voice to local communities across the planning, development and coordination of a range of mental health and wellbeing initiatives in each region.'

The appointments of the Chairs and the soon-to-follow appointment of Interim Body members will bring together people with a range of expertise to advise and guide Government on the unique mental health and wellbeing needs of their own communities.

The Chair appointments include:

  • Western metropolitan region – Jim Williamson
  • North East metropolitan region – Malcolm Hopwood
  • South East metropolitan region – Tass Mousaferiadis
  • Loddon Mallee region – Paul O’Neil
  • Hume region – Emma Reid
  • Gippsland region – Kellie O’Callaghan
  • Grampians region – Melissa Field
  • South West region – Kathy Wilson

'The Chairs bring a range of expertise including lived experience and a vast array of skills and background in the health and services sector,' said Larissa.

'We look forward to the appointments of the other five members of each Regional Body. All eight Regional Bodies will include at least one person with lived experience of mental illness or psychological distress, and at least one with lived experience as a family member or carer.'

The establishment of the Regional Bodies is a key step towards achieving regional governance and the Royal Commission’s vision of transforming how mental health and wellbeing services are delivered and commissioned.

By the end of 2023 the Regional Bodies will be replaced by skills based Regional Boards. These will work in partnership with entities such as the Collaborative Centre for Mental Health and Wellbeing and local communities to ensure services plan and respond to the needs of local communities.

They will also be responsible for funding and monitoring service providers and workforce planning and service integration.

'We congratulate each of the eight Chairs on their appointments,' said Larissa, 'and look forward to meeting and working with them as Victoria moves towards a better integrated and locally-responsive mental health and wellbeing system.'

Related Articles

Mental Health Victoria Board candidates shortlist

13 September 2022
After a very competitive process with over 50 applications received, we are pleased to announce the five approved can...
Pullman Hotel Albert Park

Our Reform program

29 August 2022
We are pleased to present the program for the Our Reform conference.
Group of people look at nature with arms around each other

Statement: Victoria's new Mental Health and Wellbeing Act

18 August 2022
Mental Health Victoia welcomes the passing of the new Mental Health and Wellbeing Act. The Act will come into effect ...